Uncategorized

Bargains Galore!

Friday, February 11, 2011

A close friend of mine introduced me to the wonders of thrift shops, I loved antiquing back at home, but rarely got the chance to get out there, and when I did I spent far too much money… But since moving into Madison, I have learnt the joys of the local thrift store… Hours and hours of pure pleasure and rare treasures!

About half a mile from my house here in Sparta is a local church run thrift store, fortunately for Paul it is not open all day and every day, otherwise I would be totally addicted and fill our house with so much junk, as he would say, instead I go frequently, but not all the time… Last week it was so empty in there, no people and not a lot on the shelves, but I still managed to find a few things I really loved… The yellow pillow sham, was a first for me, I never usually look at fabrics, but the color reminded me so much of spring, and I just loved the shabby chic feel about it… And it was just a bargain at 50 cents.  So I have had a few ideas of what to do with it, one of them being small drapes for my yellow hallway, so watch this space!  The glass jars are just an addiction of mine, so maybe tea light holders for my summer outdoor table, we will see, but I just thought they were so cute!

I loved these yellow flower plastic bowls, I am not usually a big fan of the color yellow, but for some reason it is one of my favorite colors at the moment, I think it must be the lack of sunshine and this never ending winter… So last year I started a picnic basket for the beach, I got a brightly colored basket from Target and added some pink plates, bowls, cups and cutlery, so I just thought these bowls would be a perfect addition, I also found a bright pink and yellow tab top curtain in the Christmas Tree Shop for 98 cents, I have cut off the tab tops and it has made a perfect table cloth or picnic blanket… I just love it

So it has been a week of bargains for me this week, I spent a total of $2.50 in the thrift store and yesterday I went mad in the Christmas Tree Shop, all the left over Christmas decorations were 1 cent each, I know we still have another 11 months until the next christmas, but I will be glad I picked up these few thing when we are decorating our tree this year…  And there were a few cute tree decorations left, so for 1 cent it would have been rude not to have picked some up… So after sifting through baskets and spending a grand total of 15 cents, I moved onto the blue cart with the 8 cent items and I picked up three mirrors to put up in Mabel’s room, a blue check table cloth and some table mats, spending a total of 56 cents… I am sure Paul does not believe these things were so cheap, but I love the hunt of a bargain, and then deciding what I should do with them!

On a last note, I have been so desperately craving spring this week, I have been drawn towards the beautiful flowers in the local grocery stores, I was so disappointed when, after choosing two cute hydrangeas one of them drooped and died almost instantly, fortunately the other bloom is full of life and looks really cute in my floral pink jug on my kitchen counter…  So whilst I was in Michaels yesterday I noticed 40% off all their florals, now I know they are not real but they definitely brighten up a dull winters day, so I purchased three bunches of lavender blooms for my cute cream jug in the hallway, then I spotted a sweet ceramic bird to add to my purchase,  I just love them, they have given my hallway a sparkle of spring and what is to come, oh but don’t look too close, you might just notice they are not real flowers, but at least they still look as good as when I bought them… Happy Spring Thoughts!

Leave a Reply

