Uncategorized

Me and my minivan…

Friday, November 4, 2011

Toyota World lounge

It looks like this blog is going to be a two day affair… Finding time to blog is difficult when you are a one man band with 7 children, but I think I have the solution, thanks to a friends blog about organizing your life!

 

I was reading one of her recent posts about how organization gives you more time… Time to read a book, time to write a blog, time to make your Christmas cards, or just simply quality time to spend with your children… So I have a solution, that will hopefully give me more time… It’s a really simple idea… Get the children to help out more around the house… So today is all about a schedule of chores that each one of them (Florence excluded) will have to complete each week… Simple, you think, well you have not met my children… This is going to be a challenge… 6 children, many, many tasks and a 2 week schedule… Can I achieve a more well tuned house… Watch this space!

 

So far this morning, Mabel and Farrel missed the bus, Blu caught the bus… Well one out of 3 is not so bad, and it is Friday!  I came into the kitchen to a broken photo frame on the kitchen table, so I had to vacuum around, and then get rid of the broken frame… All this and I have to be in Newton, 10 minutes away for 9.30, as my car is in the garage for a service today!  After a very quick shower, I grab Florence in her Pjs, I grab her clothes and literally fly over to Newton!

 

I am in love with Toyota World in Newton… On arrival you drive up to the service area and wait for the door to raise, then you drive through then you are greeted by your service agent, she was calm as I frantically got the stroller and Florrie out of the car, she then showed me through to the waiting lounge area… Bliss with a capital B… Above the fireplace, Regis and Kelly are playing on the large TV… There is a coffee machine, which believe me I need that this morning as in my haste this morning I only managed one cup!  I settle onto one of the comfy leather couches, changed Florrie’s diaper and dressed her, then i head straight over to the coffee machine!

 

Coffee in hand, Rachel Ray now on tv… I love cooking shows, and Florrie happy in her stroller, I sit back wait and finally relax… With nothing to do for the next hour or so, I just sit, something I never normally get to do.  The best part of this experience… $0.00 is the total for this service, 2 years free servicing… You just have to love driving a Toyota minivan!

 

What’s for dinner in your house?

I tried out my new rice cooker/steamer/slow cooker for a creamy risotto, I took a recipe from the cookbook and converted it… So I cooked 1 1/2 cups of rice with 3 1/2 cups chicken broth.  First of all you add about 1 tablespoon of oil to rice cooker let it heat on rice setting, then you sauté chopped celery and onion… Once softened add rice and toss in oil cook for 2 minutes then add 1/2 cup white wine cook until absorbed add the chicken broth stir, close the lid and let it cook in the white rice setting.

 

Meanwhile cube 1/2 a butternut squash, or buy one ready done like I did… Im just lazy really!  chop up some chicken sausages Toss in a pan with olive oil fresh rosemary, salt and pepper then cook on 375 f for about 20 minutes.

 

Once the rice is cooked add 1 cup of grated Parmesan cheese and serve topped with the warm butternut squash and sausage mixture!  I think I needed more rice for 4 people so next time I’ll add 2 cups… It was still yummy though, but only Paul and I had the butternut squash… Typical!

Leave a Reply

