Uncategorized

Thanksgiving… The Windle way!

Thursday, November 24, 2011

Today is Thanksgiving, and I have lots of things to be thankful for, although after not a lot of sleep all week my brain is having trouble processing anything I am thankful for, so I am just going to say that I’m sure you all know the things I’m the most thankful for and leave it at that!

 

Back to the no sleep issue, Florrie turned 6 months old last week and with that has bought with it no sleep, for some unknown reason she has decided she does not like being put down even when she is in a very deep sleep, she knows she has been put into her own bed and then she wakes up and cries and cries and cries… Help, I am soooooo tired!  Also being 6 months old meant that it was time to introduce solid food, so last Sunday she had her first bowl of baby organic rice, she was not a huge fan, so after 3 days of the rice yesterday we switched to organic bananas, she seemed to not like this one either, but we’ll see how it goes in two more days time!

 

Monday was Mabel’s parent teacher conference day, after almost not making it to the school at all, as I had to drop Dom at the station 20 minutes away, I arrive 5 minutes late, but that’s ok because Mrs B is running 15 minutes late… After waiting around for 10 minutes I go into Mabel’s classroom and it is well worth the wait she is a star student, she has 95% and 98% in science and Math, she is a mature, conciencious member of her class well liked by both her teachers and friends… Yay, way to go Mabel D!

 

Basically the rest of my week has been spent preparing for thanksgiving, I spent tuesday in Trader Joes and Costco, both of them were not so busy, then after thinking I had everything and that Lewis was getting breakfast organized, I had to go to Stop and Shop yesterday as Lewis handed me the money to buy the breakfast items so he can then cook them… He is only doing half the job!

nibbles from Costco
Farrel’s apple crumble

 

What’s for Thanksgiving dinner in your house?

For breakfast we have :

Belgian waffles, whipped cream and fresh strawberries!

Eggs, sausages, bacon, beans, fresh bread and warm biscuits

Bagels, cream cheese and smoked salmon

Mabel is making her speciality milkshakes topped with whipped cream and chocolate shavings!

 

For dinner we have:

Turkey, apple smoked Ham, stuffing, mashed potatoes a selection of veggies and maybe Yorkshire puddings… Jamie Oliver style!

 

For desert Farrel is making an apple crumble or crisp if you are American, we had a vote as he wanted to make pumpkin pie, my personal favorite but it did not get many votes, so apple crumble it is! We also have a selection of mini deserts from Costco!

 

If we make it through all this food, I’ll be back for another blog soon… Wish us luck!

Happy Thanksgiving… Have a great Turkey Day!

Leave a Reply

