Uncategorized

Hot out of the oven…

Saturday, February 11, 2012

This week has been a washout in so many ways… We started our week with a washing machine that was not working… Bummer when you literally have piles and piles of dirty clothes to wash, where they all come from I just don’t know, I think my children hide them away and then they appear and it’s never ending!  Thankfully a very kind friend allowed me to wash Florrie’s things on Monday and then the Sears Blue Crew arrived to save the day first thing Tuesday morning… The problem was damn dog hairs blocking the pipes, I think the children must roll their clothes in the continual shedding dog hairs or maybe it’s because they can never find a laundry basket so then the dog sleeps on their clothes thinking its his dog bed… Either way someone has to go and it’s a tough choice between very messy older children and that damn dog… Ha, ha!

 

The rest of my week has been spent doing laundry, sorting out closets, baking and shopping, sort of in that order!  I finally got to my last pile of dirty clothes yesterday, I have washed and sorted Florence’s closet into order ready for spring as well though… A very kind friend gave me a lot of baby girl clothes which I just stored away as a lot of the sizes were bigger than my tiny newborn Florrie, well now, guess what she has grown into them… So i spent yesterday rewashing, ironing and rehanging them… Wow she has a lot of clothes, especially as I had a little shopping trip to Target on Thursday and got carried away with buying her very cute new clothes too… She is one very lucky little girl!

 

I have also been baking up a storm this week, my menu planning has kind of been sidetracked but we have had baked goods and ice cream… Scrummy homemade chocolate and then coconut ice cream to go with delicious warm spicy apple muffins, oatmeal cookies and chocolate dipped shortbread!  It was driving me mad, I am such a perfectionist, that I could not get the right texture in my muffins… Well after watching a few you tube videos… Voila, perfect appley muffins… Yay I’m very happy!  The same with my shortbread, it has just not been quite right until yesterday, I have been watching Laura in the Kitchen on you tube and she is definitely getting my baking skills back for me… Her shortbread recipe was sooooo good, although Dom the shortbread lover preferred Jamie’s recipe, but I secretly think its because it has sooooo much butter in it!

 

This week was Trep$ week for Mabel, so we have been busy preparing for the marketplace event on Wednesday… For those of you that don’t know, Mabel has been doing an after school club called Trep$, I’m sure it stands for something, but I really don’t know what… So, anyway Trep$ is a young persons introduction into the business world, over the last few weeks she has had to decide on what she wanted to sell, beaded bracelets, find the start up funding (of course borrow from your parents), learn how to make her product and then buy the materials needed… All in all it was a fantastic learning experience for both Mabel and her parents, ending in a very fun evening marketplace selling her very cute bracelets and making $50… Of course she seems to have forgotten she borrowed money from us to buy the materials, but hey, ho, she had so much fun, what’s a few dollars anyway!  Between buying the materials and giving her money to spend on other peoples booths at the marketplace, it was quite an expensive free after school club for me and Paul… Ha, ha!

 

One more thing to mention… Lunch on Thursday with my husband… So GOOD, and so unexpected… Florence slept through our whole lunch in Grato’s, it was such a nice thing to do to brighten your week, we chatted, ate, and drank (no alcohol though… Bummer) with no children interruptions – beef carpaccio to start, pizza and pumpkin ravioli with amoretti cookies all followed by a cappuccino… Perfect February spring like Thursday afternoon!

Leave a Reply

