Uncategorized

I love a bargain!

Sunday, January 8, 2012

flat bread open sandwich

Well my healthy eating has been up and down all week!  Yesterday I took sick boy, Blu to McDonald’s (he came home sick on Thursday and by yesterday afternoon he was feeling much better, hence a trip to Mickey D’s). Anyway I swapped my usual crispy chicken snack wrap for grilled chicken and I think I preferred it, but then I added a small peppermint mocha (oh how I love them)… Did you know that, my one small drink almost had as many calories as my snack wrap… Oh well it was delicious so I won’t think too much about calories on this one!

 

I did save the day by making a very yummy pesto veggie soup and made from scratch flat bread style sandwiches… I actually got my bread machine out of retirement and made the pizza dough too, I just don’t know what came over me… Ha, ha!

 

In other news this week, I have been out shopping catching up on those annoying birthdays that are just after Christmas… You know who you are, you just breathe a sigh of relief that Christmas is over and done with… And bam, you have 3 birthdays to go out and shop for!

 

It’s been a quiet week really, no wild parties, no fun lunches… Just me and my little Florrie doing our own thing!  Florence has decided to sleep a little bit better, but only in her car seat, but I really am not too worried I need all the sleep I can get and anyway that I can get it.  I have been baking up a storm first banana and white chocolate chip muffins then some oatmeal and chocolate chip cookies, both very delicious and not really helping with my diet… Ha, ha!

 

I had a couple of returns after Christmas, which then led to more shopping, not a good idea really… Mabel had an Abercombie cardigan that had a tiny hole in the lace, so I returned that, they were really nice and gave me store credit for the original price and then there was 40% off the entire store, including clearance so it would have been rude not to get a few things.  I then headed into the kitchen department in Macy’s, always a bad idea for me, as I love kitcheny stuff… And I found a large frying pan that was originally $69, reduced to $39.99, then with 50% off… $20 for a Martha Stewart pan… a bargain, so I had to have it, as I really needed a pan this size!

 

What’s for dinner in your house today?

On Friday night I made a very delicious soup, one I will definitely be making again!

I used the veggies I had in, but you could use anything really… I sautéed 1/2 red onion, with 2 sticks of celery and a handful of sliced baby carrots.  To this I then added a zucchini. cubed and 1/2 bag of frozen spinach, some frozen green beans then about 3 cups of stock/broth, stir and add a jar of green pesto, 1 can of white kidney beans and about 1/3 of a box of pasta shells… Oh I should of mentioned I cooked this in my rice cooker, so I closed the lid and let it cook on the white rice setting… Perfect served with my pizza dough, flat bread sandwiches (photo above)… Baby spinach, salami, slices of provolone cheese and grape tomatoes warmed through in the oven… Oh and let’s not forget a glass of your favorite wine!

 

Leave a Reply

