Uncategorized

lets go to the library…

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

Jamie’s Epic chicken salad… Karen style!

Well this Monday morning turned out to be a great start to my week… With no car, as Dom had taken it to college, freezing cold weather and a relatively tidy house (well for us anyway) I decided to get Florrie nursed and asleep and indulge myself in coffee, toast and a movie snuggled up in bed… Yay for me, it all worked out perfectly, something that just doesn’t happen every day, well any day usually!

 

Empty house, relaxing morning over, back to the real world… Children returning from college, I decide to get out for a while… So I waited on the drive for Mabel’s school bus so that we could head to stop and shop together… 3 girls in a supermarket, fun, fun, fun!  Food shopping done we head home to pick up Farrel and Blu… First stop Dominos pizza to drop Farrel to work then onto the library, things to take back as we don’t want to get any fines, like we usually do!  Books, games a DVDs chosen we head home so I can start dinner, nurse Florrie, and get her ready for bed… Whooooa what a tiring day… Ha, ha!

 

Whats for dinner in your house tonight?

We had Karen’s variation of Jamie’s epic chicken salad… I took the principle and the dressing and created a delicious warm winter salad!

So to start with I chopped up half a bunch of asparagus into one inch pieces, I then trimmed and washed 2 good handfuls of green beans, washed a couple of handfuls of grape tomatoes and added some sliced mushrooms… I put all of these into a bowl whilst I part cooked my small new red potatoes… Once cooked I sliced them and let them cool before adding them to the veggies!

Now to make the dressing, mix 1 tablespoon of grain mustard with 2 tablespoons of white balsamic vinegar and 5 tablespoons of olive oil, salt and pepper and shake!

Add 1 tablespoon of thyme to veggies along with juice and quarters of juiced lemon then toss with half of the salad dressing! Lay all of this on a baking sheet, top with sliced chicken and apple sausages and bake at 400 f for about 20-25 minutes, stirring around somewhere in the middle.

Serve in a bowl with fresh baby spinach and the rest of the dressing… Toss and enjoy with a glass of wine… Mine was a Pinot noir… Scrummy, even if I do say myself!

Leave a Reply

