Uncategorized

to sew or not to sew!

Saturday, December 24, 2011

project Christmas table cloth

Today’s Blog is about my new found need/want to learn to sew… Yes that’s right I’m on a quest to learn to sew!  I know the basics, and when I say I know the basics, I mean the basics… I can hand sew very neatly, I can wind a bobbin, thread the cotton onto the sewing machine, and sew a relatively straight line on some material… But that’s it, my stitch tension is bad with a capital B, I need to practise, practise and practise alot more!

 

So with that in mind, I began project Christmas table… My inspiration was a 2011 Cath Kidston Christmas table photograph I found online!  For those of you that don’t know I am a huge Cath Kidston fan, I have been for too many years now, and for those of you that don’t know who Cath Kidston is, think of Laura Ashley but slightly different… Anyway I love all her many housewares, fabrics, handbags, phone cases, the list goes on and on!

 

So to get this table started… It’s way too late to order the fabric in the photo, it definitely won’t be here in time for Christmas day… I really need to find a good local fabric store, but with limited time on my hands I head to Walmart in rockaway, children in tow… I have a design in mind, but now to find what I want… Blu and Mabel try to help suggesting fabrics but in the end I spy just what I want, I then find the fringes and pick a co-ordinating fringe for my design!

 

The next day, Christmas food in my cupboards, presents bought but not all wrapped just yet, it is time to get the sewing machine out… First things first I get out the ironing board and iron, now this part I am not so bad at… In no time at all I have cut hemmed and pinned the fabric ready to sew!

 

Now for the sewing part… Not so quick this time, I’m very impressed with myself, I manage to wind my red thread onto the bobbin and get the needle threaded ready to go… Not quite, I need my Moms help right now, so over the phone she helps me grab the thread from the bobbin… Let’s get started… But let’s not forget its been quite a few years since I have tried out my sewing skills on any machine… And it’s not as easy as it looks or I remember!

 

After many, many frustrating attempts my stitching is not the best but I hem the fabric and attach the fringing… Now don’t look too close but from a distance I’m very pleased with how it’s turned out for now… But 2012 is the year for me to learn to sew properly… So watch this space!

Leave a Reply

