Uncategorized

Happy Birthday Jord

Years ago when we only had our boys, no girls for us, or so we thought, it would have been hard to imagine a Saturday afternoon shopping with just us girls, and for Paul even harder to imagine, but with Blu firmly attached to the Xbox controller at home that’s how we spent yesterday afternoon… 2 gorgeous girls, their Mom and one very lucky Dad having the best afternoon shopping in Rockaway… Yay, mine and Mabel’s favorite pastime ever!

Now don’t get me started, but years ago it would have been not only hard to imagine a girls and their Dad afternoon shopping but an afternoon shopping in a Mall 3500 miles away in the USA, now that would have been really hard to imagine too, but these days we take that all for granted, Macy’s, Target, Abercrombie to name but a few, these are all stores that have become an everyday name to us, sometimes I find it hard to believe that M&S, Monsoon, Laura Ashley are not those stores I just pop into for a quick browse… It’s hard to believe that life has changed so much, yet still in many ways is exactly the same!

With the hot sticky weather upon us I have been finding it harder and harder to menu plan, we are on a healthy eating plan, but we are not taking it too seriously so it does not become an obsession, take yesterday for example we had a healthy breakfast and lunch but then after a long afternoon of shopping we bought a pizza, and instead of feeling guilty which is exactly what I normally do, I’m just excepting it and moving onto another day… A real break though for this Mom who used to be anorexic!

So with the cooking happening outdoors right now, I have been making healthy chicken/salmon and veggie foil parcels for the grill… I bought some Trader Joes sauces to flavor the chicken, I know its cheating a little bit, but its just so much easier, I’ve then been adding my Farmers Market veggies then grilling them until just cooked… They are very healthy, delicious and extremely popular in my house at the moment!

On the menu for tonight is chopped Swiss chard, bruschetta topped chicken served over Alfredo whole wheat spaghetti, with maybe a Mojito on the side!

We were going to head to the beach today but as it is Jordan’s 22nd… Yes I do feel old saying the baby of my older children is going to be 22, anyway as I was saying, Jordan’s Birthday is on Wednesday and most of us are around, we are having an early start for a Birthday breakfast on the beach, with that in mind, Mabel has now chosen a beach theme for Jord’s big day so I’m off to the Christmas tree store for supplies for the big day today… I’m officially getting old, it only seems like yesterday that I was 22 and pregnant with him… Oh well, Happy Sunday everyone!

20120715-093827.jpg

Leave a Reply

