Uncategorized

Back to School night dinner recipe!

Where has this week gone too, one minute I was dreading waking up to my alarm, the next I’m sitting in bed contemplating doing my Friday grocery shopping… Today’s blog is just going to be a dinner recipe I threw, literally, in the slow cooker on Thursday night, the ingredients were just anything I had left in my refrigerator, and I needed a prepared dinner as I had Mabel’s back to school night.

My reason for blogging it is that Jordan said it was the best meal I had made for a while and I want to remember how to make it again, selfish I know, but a necessity when you have fussy eaters in your house!
So hear it is… Back to school night dinner:

Take whatever veggies you have in, I used organic chopped kale, green beans and thinly sliced red onion, place them in the bottom of your slow cooker, toss them with a couple of teaspoons of rosemary and thyme, season with salt a pepper and cover with whatever broth you have in your pantry, mine was chicken. Place chicken thighs over the top of the veggies then season with salt and pepper, place a couple of rashers of bacon (optional, I had some in my refrigerator) over the chicken for flavor, set slow cooker on low for 6 hours. When you have about an hour left of slow cooking make up a batch of biscuit dough, I used this link – http://blog.kitchenmage.com/2008/01/simple-flaky-bi.html and make into balls to place on top of chicken making light fluffy dumplings, let them cook for about an hour! At the end of the cooking time draw off the liquid from the bottom of the slow cooker, place in a saute pan, skim any fat and add a little chicken boullion to the liquid, mix up about two tablespoons of cornstarch with a couple of tablespoons of water (this will depend on how much liquid is in your pan), bring the liquid to the boil and add the cornstarch, water mixture, constantly stir until the gravy thickens… Serve the chicken and veggies with whatever you fancy I made up a pot of quinoa then pour your delicious gravy over the top… For fun bake some of your dumpling mixture into star biscuits and serve on the side… Florence loved these!

Leave a Reply

