Uncategorized

It’s all about comfort food…

So today is all about food yet again… With the weather turning colder and the evenings getting darker, it’s been time to think about warm comfort food in our house, so I’m going to share one of my favorite meals with you all…

Monday night I began my evening routine by boiling a bag of small potatoes until they were cooked through, then with a hand held blender (one handed as Florrie was on my other side) I roughly mashed them with a cup of broth, then I added 2 cups of green beans, a packet of chicken and apple sausages (cooked and sliced) a tablespoon of rosemary and 3 more cups of chicken broth… Season to taste, stir and reheat through until soup is creamy and warm! Now with all this deliciousness warming through I could not decide what I should accompany it with, a friend had recently told me she had made Jamie Oliver’s chili, cheese cornbread, so with that in mind I grabbed his book and began assembling the ingredients, some I had to substitute but it was delicious none the less! This cornbread is so easy and soooooo good and it was perfect with my warm sausage potato soup… Definitely one of my favorite Fall meals recently!

Menu plan for the week ahead…

Wednesday – Jamie’s tender chicken legs with tomatoes served with leftover cornbread (Internet)

Thursday – Spicy pork chilli pepper goulash and rice

Friday – Jamie’s roasted peppers with chillies and tomatoes ( at home page 252)

Saturday – pork ragu with parpadelle

Sunday -chicken legs with delicate pearl barley, pea and lettuce stew

Monday – steak Guinness and cheese pie

Tuesday – wild mushroom and beef stroganoff

20121017-165557.jpg

Leave a Reply

