Uncategorized

Reigning champion delight!

I am totally in love with iPad photographic apps, once upon a time not so long ago you needed expensive software like photoshop, hours of patience and a drawing tablet to create photographic effects on photographs, now with an iPad, a cheap or quite often free app… the photographic editing world is at your fingertips in minutes… Click a photo on your device, download it to your favorite app then get to work! Diptic is my favorite app for combining more than one photo in a border, then snapseed is my app of choice to create a world of effects and finally color splash takes my photo turns it black and white then allows me to bring back color to an object within the photo… Quite often I will use all three apps before sharing my masterpiece with the world… Ha, ha!

20121229-154654.jpg

20121229-154721.jpg

Back to the subject of food, on Christmas Eve, Dominic was asked to bring in a dish of food to share with his work colleagues, of course Dom being Dom asked me to cook something for him… That is when my chicken pot pie tartlet emerged as an idea, this idea was not only delicious but won the Liquor Factory Christmas Cook off… Yes I am reigning champion of the 2012 Christmas Eve buffet at Dominic’s work place… And here’s how I made it…
Pastry crust – take 1 cup of flour add one 1/2 cup of cubed, chilled butter, pulse 10 times in the food processor then drizzle in chilled water until the dough just comes together to form a ball, wrap in cling film then chill in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes.
Pot pie filling – chop 2 carrots, 1 onion and 2 strips of celery finely in the food processor, sauté in a tablespoon of olive oil for 10 minutes until soft them add 1 teaspoon of thyme, season with salt and pepper then add shredded rotisserie chicken… Yes, this is where I cheated, rotisserie chicken is my favorite cooked ingredient of 2012.
White sauce – melt 2 tablespoons of butter in a pan, add 2 tablespoons of flour and combine, cook for a minute or 2, then slowly add about 1/2 pint of water stir until combined then heat through stirring constantly until thickened. Take the thickened sauce off the heat and add one tablespoon of chicken boullion, mix and then allow to cool. Once cooled add one beaten egg to the mixture then combine with vegetable and chicken mixture. An optional ingredient here is grated cheese… It’s up to you!

Roll out chilled pastry either cut into small tartlets or make one large pie, fill with chicken mixture and bake at 400f for 20 minutes for small tartlets and 30-35 minutes for large pie… Serve warm or cold, delicious either way!

Well on this snowy day right at the end of December 2012 I want to thank each and every one of you for reading my ramblings throughout this past year, sometimes I wonder what to write, but then when I begin the words begin to flow, this is not only a diary for myself to remember each and every detail but I want to keep our lives in touch with those people near and far away… Be happy, stay warm and dry!

20121229-161842.jpg

Leave a Reply

