Uncategorized

Soap box moment…

In this struggling economy we are supposed to feel ‘grateful’ we have our jobs, but the cold, stark reality is that companies are just using it as an excuse to use and abuse their employees… In years gone past loyalty and hard work, commitment and knowledge were all things that were rewarded, but in these times we live in now they are not only disregarded but reasons to take away money and moral from hard working employees… We are no longer people but numbers to gain more and more money in a never ending cycle of greed…

… And this is why I am putting into place my idea of creating my own company on Etsy for my handmade creations… This idea has been around for well over a year now, I don’t want to go back into the working world and be a slave to companies that no longer care about individuals, I want to be my own boss, I am so in love with making handmade items, and I really need a challenge in my life too, that this is so perfect for me to try right now, it may not have a racing start or generate a huge income, but it is something that I can incorporate into my life with my children and give me something to do that isn’t just housework! I have a plan in mind to keep my stock minimal to start with, simple and then just see how it goes… Wish me luck! Watch this space for more details on Florrie’s Attic…

Yesterday I did one of my favorite things visited Jo-Ann’s Fabric store, this one was brand new, sparkly and just so full of everything the avid crafter could think of and more, this is where my idea of my new Etsy company began to emerge again, as I wandered through the aisle upon aisle of colorful fabric and then onto the overstocked yarn department, I knew this was a deep passion in my life that had to be released into the world… I could spend hours just looking at fabrics, I could spend hours choosing yarn for new projects so now it is time to learn, perfect and create… The first one is that scarf I knitted a few weeks ago, I had an idea whilst out shopping with my children, the idea has changed the scarfs identity into a different concept, lets hope it works and it can be my first item for sale!

20130206-071733.jpg

20130206-071756.jpg

Leave a Reply

