Uncategorized

Warm flat bread sandwiches

My new favorite healthy things this week are chia seeds, ultra healthy, gluten free, lots of fibre and so easy to add into everyday cooking and eating… Love them, $4.99 for a 150g bag from my favorite store Trader Joes! Probiotic yogurts… Loving them, and so are all of my children, $2.99 for 4 yogurts in stop and shop, but the real bargain is to be found in Costco, $8.99 for 24 yogurts, that’s double the amount of yogurts you would get in stop and shop for your money… It’s so great that I bought so many as I have discovered everyone eating my yogurts! I have also found that they are very tasty in smoothies too!

My last rave about all things healthy this week is almond milk, I bought it weeks ago and it has sat in my fridge waiting to be opened, now I’ve used it I love it, it’s so healthy, delicious and of course gluten free, for all those people trying to lessen the gluten we have in our lives, it’s definitely worth a try!

Now I have discussed before my interest in juicing, well I decided to go ahead with my new plan, so armed with my research I headed to Costco on Saturday and bought a Ninja blender, it said it was a complete juicer, so I thought I would give it a try, I stocked up on lots of fruit and veggies, not a lot of organics though, Costco really need to start stocking more organic produce, and came home ready to start juicing my way to a healthier lifestyle! Some might say a blender is a good way to juice but I was not so impressed, yes, you do drink all of the produce compared to juicing but the juice has the texture of apple sauce, which I did not like and I was also bloated from drinking/eating so many fruit and vegetables… Thankfully Costco has an excellent policy for returns, but for anyone that cannot afford a Vitamix blender, the Ninja is an excellent choice, it was a very powerful easy to clean alternative that has me wondering whether I should keep it… Anyway back to juicing, I love Costco’s return policy so I was disappointed they did not have any actual juicers in stock, so I headed straight to their website and yay, they had a choice of juicers, I read all the reviews and chose the one that got the best ones… So my produce is patiently waiting to be juiced in my refrigerator, hopefully I will be juicing away by the end of this week!

Recipe of the week

1 packet of tandoori naan bread (I used one from Costco)
1 jar of pesto
Thin slices of salami
Any salad items you would like (I used red onion finely sliced and diced, thin slices of tomato, pea shoots, pickled jalapeños and mixed olives… But your choice is endless)
On my flatbread I put crumbled feta cheese, but everyone else had pepper jack shredded

Place naan bread on your board, spread approximately 1 tablespoon of pesto onto the bread evenly. Then top with sliced salami and salad items, for mine I went for the Greek style, red onion, olives, tomato pea shoots and feta cheese, but you can just have anything you want! Heat in a 400f oven for 6 minutes… Top with spring mix leaves and serve!

I forgot to mention I added chia seeds for added nutrition, lightly sprinkled with the cheese… Yummy and so healthy!

20130422-081250.jpg

Leave a Reply

