Uncategorized

Blueberry Mojito time…

Paul has converted me over the last couple of years… I officially love mojito’s, I wasn’t sure about them at first, but Paul’s love of a nice ice cold Mojito has totally got me addicted now. Father’s Day in our house has come to mean, the last of the spring soccer games, followed by a cocktail or two on the deck all served with a nicely cooked BBQ and a slice of cake to finish everything off… Father’s Day our way!

So, I received my weekly zip list email last week and there was a gorgeous photo of blueberry Mojito’s, I followed the link and was inspired for our Father’s Day cocktail this year, but of course I forgot to bookmark the recipe so I had to wing it by adding blueberries to our Mojito recipe;

For each glass …
1/2 lime cut into 4 wedges
10 mint leaves
1/8 cup of white sugar
A small hand full of blueberries
Place all of these into the glass with a pestle grind the ingredients so that the juices and sugar make a nice paste, then add ice and 4-5 whole blueberries, top with 1/4 cup of white rum and 1/2 cup of club soda… Stir and enjoy!

We also had a BBQ this year, I had no back up plan if it rained, which it has done a lot this year! On the menu… Philly cheesesteak bar, grilled rubbed steak, grated cheeses, onion, peppers and toasted rolls, take your pick and create your very own Philly cheesesteak! We also had Italian inspired freshly made burgers… To your ground beef add 1 cup of freshly made breadcrumbs mixed together with a handful of chopped rosemary and another handful of thyme, then mix in one tablespoon of red chili flakes. In your blender add a bunch of fresh parsley, some freshly sliced Parmesan cheese, a clove of fresh garlic and a half of a red onion… Blitz until finely chopped then add into your ground beef mixture… Mix together thoroughly then cover and refrigerate for at least one hour, mine sat around chilling for 4 hours whilst we went to our soccer games! Finally heat your grill, shape into patties and cook to your desired taste, grill the buns, then top the burgers with cheddar cheese, tomato and lettuce… Enjoy, Paul said they were the best Father’s Day burgers he had ever eaten… Maybe an exaggeration but they did taste good!

Finally on a Florrie’s Attic note… I spent my Monday morning wandering around Jo Ann’s Fabric store, possibly one of my favorite things to do, inspired by another order… Yay, I wanted some thinner cotton yarn for my hat flowers, I then had the idea I could sew little pillowcase dresses and add my crochet flowers for decoration, keeping in a theme of combining crochet with all my products. So totally inspired I bought the cutest yellow and gray fabric… All I need now is a spare hour or two and hopefully my vision will be ready to launch in my shop… So watch this space Florrie’s Attic!

20130618-081857.jpg

Leave a Reply

