Uncategorized

Florrie the big sister…

Where to begin my story…
I suppose it goes back to being 46 this year, too old according to my OBGYN to get pregnant, when my doctor told me I was getting to that age, I did not realize quite what he meant at first, it took me a while to realize he meant the big M word… Duh? Gasp, horror, I was that age now, officially old enough to start the menopause… And yes all signs led me to believe it had started, my cycle had changed, my mood swings were different, my period was an erratic mess… Gasp, I was starting the menopause! I started to look on the positives, not that I could find many, periods, heavy, heavy, heavy, irregular timings and weird moods at bizarre times of the month, but, yes according to my doctor I did not have to worry too much about pregnancy, no eggs were being released I was just going through the motions, so although about a year ago I was in love with the idea of Florrie having a little sibling, I think those baby hormones had flared, but then subsided quickly, I was definitely thinking life was calming after the storm of a newborn entering our lives… This was it 7 beautiful children, we are definitely blessed!

Going back to the end of June now… School was out for summer… Yay, and my period was late, but I wasn’t worried, remember that peri menopause thing… But there was this nagging in my brain, on a trip into Target I casually wandered around to the pregnancy tests…$15 to pee on a stick and then flash NOT PREGNANT, I was not spending that, so I walked away empty handed! Still a nagging thought lingered, so on trip Starbucks one day I wandered into the Dollar Tree across the road, I had read somewhere at some time they sold $1 pregnancy and ovulation kits, but not only that they have $1 majuana testing kits too… Bargain! I picked up one pregnancy test, yes only one… Last of the big spenders… $1 later and three drops of pee the control line appeared but that was it… Phew, wait 2-3 minutes later another very faint line appeared… WHAT? I called Paul and all he could say was try it again, but of course I had only bought one, yes ONE $1 test… Really! So the next day I headed back to the Dollar Tree and repeated the whole process… SH##, another faint line… My plan was to forget about the whole thing, enjoy the summer and then think about it when the children went back to school… Really, I am just a crazy chick, and of course no great plan ever goes to PLAN!

About two weeks later the sickness started, then it hit hard… I felt like Crap, excuse the term, but I really felt bad, I was forced into going to the doctors as a non pregnancy related issue occurred… And so began the roller coaster of the first trimester! The odds were not good, at my age a 1/4 chance of having a baby with a chromosome deformation, at 8 weeks I had an ultra sound, one heartbeat… Yay, some good news, at 12 weeks I had another ultrasound and two blood tests, the first blood test and ultrasound nuchel fold test bought my odds of having a trisomy 13 or 18 baby into a normal range and although my Down’s syndrome risk decreased it was still low! The second blood test the new maternit21 confirmed a normal 46 chromosomes… Yay, but I had decided I wanted to opt for the same invasive test I had with Florrie, a CVS, 2 needles in my stomach later, a very long weeks wait and I finally got my results on Friday… 46 normal chromosomes, Florrie is going to be a big sister to a little brother… Of course it’s a boy, when I have all this girl stuff… It’s so funny!

Are we crazy… I think the answer to that question is a definite YES… but life throws us curve balls sometimes just when we are not expecting it… Florrie has bought so much joy into our family, so even if Paul and I are MATURE parents (in other words old) we will love and cherish this bundle of joy and this huge family will always love and be there for each other… Who says what is normal anyway, we have seven children now so one more just makes for more fun!

20130923-093847.jpg

Leave a Reply

