Uncategorized

Sharing a room…

After the announcement of our new little boy this week my focus has been on decorating a mixed gender bedroom for two tiny people… Some people do not agree with the idea that a boy and girl should share a bedroom at all, but others like myself do not see a problem with it all… Well there is one problem… How do I decorate a room for a little girly girl and a tiny new blue bundle of joy? My first thoughts when decorating a room for my Florrie was pink, pink and flowery, but this is not going to work when I add a little boy to the room, so after some research, Google, Pinterest and whatever else I could find I am very keen on a gender neutral off white room, with off white slatted wooden blinds from Ikea, oh how I love these blinds then off white ruffle drapes/ curtains… The perfect palette for one little girl and an added baby boy.

I love, love, love flowers, I am a huge Cath Kidston fan, I love Cabbages and Roses and I absolutely adore the English shabby chic country garden look… With this in mind, Florrie my very girly pink girl is having a very feminine flower pink, Blue and green bedding, pottery barn style, they actually have pink cabbage rose bedding, so perfect. Then at the other end I am going to take the blue and green from Florrie’s bedding and create a classic baby boy area. I am not a fan of the generic boys apparel, bed linen or really anything boyish really, so having a baby boy is a challenge, I really don’t like clothes with animals, cars and trucks all over them, I dislike the primary colors on boys and I really dislike baby boys in jeans, khakis and sweat pants… So as you can see having a baby boy is a big challenge for me to be different in all aspects of baby boys… I am loving Etsy, the baby boy items are so different, cute little long johns, onesies, baby legs and crochet hats, my creative juices are ebbing and flowing with boy ideas.

At each end above my two baby beds I am going to create their names using the wooden letters from Michaels and AC Moore, an idea from Pinterest is to cover each letter with different scrap booking paper giving it a very Anthropologie style, again another absolute favorite of mine! I am going to put a canopy over Florrie’s new toddler bed and then everything else I will just see how it goes from there… this is my plan, I think keeping it neutral will also help with selling our house next spring so hopefully we can move onto a new town and new lives… It is time, so fingers crossed our house will sell quickly as we have other places to be eventually and new friends to meet!

Now all I need is the paint, a paint brush, a trip to ikea and my Mum… Why my Mum I hear you say, well she is a whiz on the sewing machine and I have bed linen I need making and perhaps a few other items to make this room look perfect!

20130928-094141.jpg

Leave a Reply

