Uncategorized

The Magic of Christmas…

In this crazy world of bigger and better, must haves and technology, I really do believe we have forgotten the true meaning and magic of Christmas… As people crowd into the shops, they lose all sense of decency, manners and just plain respect… I was listening to some of the old Christmas songs on Lite Fm, my favorite at this time of year, I was listening to the words and I realized that Christmas really isn’t about the huge pile of presents we get, but really it once was a magical time of year, with warm glowing lights, trees tall and bright, food, family and love… We really have forgotten these values as we barge from one shop to another trying to get as many presents as we can… Well my advice to you all, is stop, take a huge step back and look around you, we should take more value in the love we have, just because we get the biggest present or spend the most money doesn’t mean we are the best person, it’s all about love, family, friendship and life… And just remember those that are less fortunate than ourselves… True Christmas magic is only held within and can only shine through when we are truly happy… Gifts come and go, next year there will always be something bigger and better to buy!

On that note… I am spending this last Sunday before Christmas at home… I got up extra early yesterday to get into the mall before the dreaded crowds of people appeared, we arrived outside the Mall at 8.30am, 30 minutes later than I had planned, but still I got a perfect parking place right outside Macy’s, Starbucks was quiet and civilized, we left after getting everything we needed just as the crowds began to appear. So today is a quiet make the mince pies kind of day, the home made mincemeat is made and in jars, my Mum has just made the pastry and everything is ready for the putting together of the tiny pies!

Dinner is cooking in my new Ninja slow cooker, for the first time in a very long time we have lamb… Costco’s had a very good deal on a joint of lamb, so I found a recipe crock pot lamb, so far it smells delicious… Together with baked potatoes cooking away in my second slow cooker!

The weather is very mild for December in New Jersey, all the snow of last week has melted away, so I’m guessing all hopes of a white Christmas this year are gone, still I’m not moaning as I am enjoying the milder temperatures… Long may they continue!
Merry Christmas to one and All!

20131222-162125.jpg

Leave a Reply

