Uncategorized

9 months…

Well I’m in my last week of pregnancy… I can’t believe how quickly 9 months has gone by… One minute I was looking at a positive pregnancy test, and thinking ‘REALLY!’, the next I’m thinking ‘REALLY’ again as my c-section approaches much quicker than I’m liking!

It’s been a roller coaster of a ride this time round, age was not on my side, the start of the pregnancy was filled with very negative thoughts, my age led to high risks of chromosome deformities, the morning sickness was all day misery for 16 weeks, and blinding migraine headaches… Our vacation to North Carolina was marred by nausea and tiredness… Also the worry of what was to come in the following weeks with genetic testing!

At 11/12 weeks pregnant I opted for first trimester screening including a new blood test to screen for chromosome abnormalities, but before this test result was back I decided to go for a procedure I had, had done with Florence, a CVS, this is where they take follicles from the placenta and then send them away for screening, it is an invasive proceedure, this time requiring two needles inserted into my stomach, this made me feel very sick afterwards, but with a couple of days of resting up I felt fine! Thankfully both genetic tests came back normal and letting us know he was definitely a boy… REALLY, I had lots of pink baby stuff!

After the complete shock I was having a baby boy again after 14 years, I was elated, a little brother for Florrie, as he carried on growing inside me I really was waiting for the BLOOM of pregnancy, unfortunately this has never happened… My glucose was high, my iron levels were low… Boys always take everything out of me! So now with less than a week to go, I really cannot believe I will be in the hospital this time next week, hopefully minutes away from touching this little boy, that keeps me awake all night, makes me so uncomfortable and has given me some of the worst heartburn I have ever experienced!

Panic has set in, 9 months ago I had months ahead of me before I would have to go through the dreaded c-section again, now I have days before they numb me and cut me open, last time I swore to Paul he would never do this to me again as a full blown panic attack set in… Child birth is a wonderful thing, whether you give birth naturally with all the pain or have real fear of the numbness and going under the knife, you really do forget once you hold your bundle of complete joy in your arms… Well that is until you are faced with doing it all over again!

20140310-084857.jpg

20140310-084910.jpg

20140310-084921.jpg

Leave a Reply

