Uncategorized

To BBQ or not to BBQ… That is the question?

I have decided that change of seasons means changing up my menu plan, and I am not so good at doing that… After a long hard winter of cooking casseroles and hardy soups, it’s time to crack out that BBQ, throw together salads and think about side dishes for your burgers… Easy, peasy you would think, not for me though, I struggle with change in any situation, but thinking about cooking is even more difficult, my mind goes completely blank!

So this is how far I have got this week with menu planning and grocery shopping…
Burgers
Sausages
Risotto
Some kind of chicken dish
Lots of salad
A pasta bake of some kind

Pathetic really, but my mind is totally blank to what we normally cook when Spring arrives!

Of course breastfeeding a newborn restricts my choices, no tomatoes or onions, in fact absolutely no gas producing veggies at all, so that rules out favorites like kale and broccoli, not that my children are too upset about those being on the menu, but I am missing them!

My reduced dairy diet has been good for me, I had a non fat milk drink in Starbucks yesterday and it seemed to have had no affect on Tate, but I think for me a low dairy intake diet seems to have improved my digestive system, so this will be something that I will keep ongoing, I’m not saying no dairy just reducing my intake, hopefully this will keep the IBS at bay!

Now to try the gluten reduced diet, one diet at a time to see what helps me feel better! I have kind of reduced my gluten intake anyway… I always buy Trader Joes gluten free oatmeal and pasta now, of course things like rice and quinoa are naturally gluten free, but this week I actually looked for gluten free foods, cereals and flours, I was very surprised how easy it was to find lots of dairy and gluten free foods and how well they were priced!

After spending the afternoon cleaning the BBQ, of course when I say this I do mean Paul spent the afternoon cleaning our BBQ, it was time to light it up and cook the first outdoor grilled meal of the year… Yay, Spring is here! The weather was beautiful yesterday, 70f, sunny and just purely wonderful after a very long and very cold winter… Of course I did not get any photos as I had to take a nap, feeling very tired with waking every two hours throughout the night, but I did wake up just as the food was finished cooking!

20140413-114417.jpg

Here is the link for this recipe… Very easy gluten free waffles

Leave a Reply

