Uncategorized

May…

Can you believe it is May already… Ever since the beginning of March I feel like I’ve blinked and totally missed both March and April! I usually love May, it’s my favorite month of the year if only it did not have my birthday in it (turning one year older is just no fun anymore)… I love the trees turning green, I love the warmer sunny days, I love the longer evenings of daylight and I just love the thought of the next few months of summer! This year is different… The trees around our house still look like it’s winter, the weather is not as sunny and warm as usual and I feel like if I blink May will be over too, it’s already the fifth of May and we are heading into our long weekend of celebrations in five days time… Wedding anniversary, has it really been 28 years, when I last checked we were celebrating our silver wedding
anniversary, Mother’s Day followed by yet another birthday!

The month of May is now all about Florrie for me these days… Despite other celebrations her birthday is all I can think about, planning her cake, planning her presents and making sure she has a wonderful day! Florence is a complete Frozen fan, or ‘Let it go’ as she calls it! From the moment she watched the movie she was hooked like so many other little girls, she watches endless YouTube videos of each song, she constantly sings the songs and wants to dress up in the costumes! Frozen came out in December, five months later the shelves are empty in places where Elsa and Anna should be… Really five months later… Is this a marketing ploy by Disney to keep us all interested, well really they did not need to do it, all these little girls are totally hooked!

As you may have guessed the theme for her Birthday this year is Frozen, not that we are having a party, as the day will be spent at various soccer games, but as it is on a Sunday we will be able to celebrate in the evening with nearly everyone home from work… As we could not get a dress up costume we headed to Jo Ann’s for the perfect fabric to turn my little Florrie into Queen Elsa, and yesterday after Dom did a little bit of research we managed to get an Elsa and Anna doll, very, very happy about this! I’m planning a very easy coconut cake with a frozen theme and of course you need a few balloons in icy colors to make a little three year old’s Birthday a Frozen Day!

Here are a couple of links to tutorials for Queen Elsa’s dress if you need a costume and don’t want to spend $150 and up…
Queen Elsa costume ideas
Queen Elsa cape… no sew
Frozen dress up costume

20140505-073704.jpg

Leave a Reply

