Uncategorized

Coffee in bed…

When I wake up I need my coffee, two cups to be exact otherwise I feel like I cannot start my day and function properly… This must be something in my head, a habit because I drink decaf 99.9% of the time, so there is nothing in my cup of coffee that will actually wake me up, just my head telling me I really need it! The question is could I switch to a morning smoothie instead, I have been having smoothies most mornings but after my two much needed cups of coffee. I have been sneaking in healthy veggies along with the fruit and yes I have to say I am loving them as part of a breakfast routine but seriously could they replace the coffee?

Breakfast is another issue, most researchers say breakfast is a vital part of your day, but I struggle with breakfast, firstly it makes me hungrier much faster and secondly it seems I am cramming a lot of meals into my day, maybe just the smoothie is just the answer, although I am loving my new Kashi cereal from Costco, 2 packets of a fruity whole grain that is gluten free and very delicious!

20140609-081137-29497004.jpg

The dairy free milk that I am loving the most is the rice milk I bought in Shoprite last week, we have used it in hot drinks, milkshakes and cereal, it tastes good, slightly different from cows milk but on the whole I think it’s taste is the nearest to my usual fat free organic milk, the price is good too, so I would say this is a success!

Coconut milk products are a good dairy free alternative to my usual yogurts, ice cream and milk based sauces… Coconut products like oil, water and milk seem to be the new super foods to use in all your cooking and baking, I usually have them on hand but they are not my usual go to products, but I am planning on this changing in the future! I have made pizza dough using coconut oil instead of olive oil, it worked really well, I have also replaced cows milk with coconut milk in cheese sauces, again it worked well but I have never had coconut water which is meant to be great for your digestive health, so something to try!

My biggest challenge with reducing my dairy intake has been cheese… If anyone out there can point me in the right direction for dairy free cheese, you would make me extremely happy, as I love cheese of all kinds… And I am missing it!

20140614-183359-66839773.jpg

Leave a Reply

