Tate's milestones

Tate…

Tate Jude was 3 months old yesterday… Can you believe 3 months have been and gone already… I really can’t, it feels like I blinked my eyes and suddenly he is 3 months old! Of course this means that this is the month last year that I started my pregnancy, one year ago this little man started his journey into this crazy world!

20140613-073447-27287807.jpg

Tate Jude is such a good baby, at 3 months old he has started sleeping through the night, it’s been about a week, but I’m loving my sleep again, long may it continue… He usually nurses all evening, but around 9pm he begins to close his eyes and then at 10pm he is in a deep sleep and I can lay him in his soon to be too small bassinet. He then usually sleeps until 6am’ish, although this morning it was 5am, a quick nurse and then he usually goes back to sleeping his own bed until anything from 8am to 10am… Fingers crossed this routine continues but as we all know with a very young baby things can change very quickly… But for now, I’m loving it!

This little boy loves cuddles, he loves laying out in his stroller, but most of all he loves to be worn in my mei tai carrier, snuggled up against me, he looks so cute, I never thought I would say this… But I love babywearing, it has been a life saver with my bad neck, it has meant I have been able to carry my chunky monkey around with support for my back and my neck! Baby wearing also helps me out when Florrie is tired, she can sit in the shopping cart and I can carry my little man around… Perfect!

20140613-075759-28679732.jpg
This little boy is the cutest little smiler, he looks at me and every time a cute little grin comes across his face followed by the beginnings of him talking… It melts my heart every single time! The absolute love that I feel for this tiny person is unbelievable, even after having had 7 other children it still amazes me!

Florence has fallen in love with her little brother, well both of his big sisters are totally in love with him… Florence reminds me very much of Dominic when Lewis came into our lives, he began becoming reliant oh him to give him confidence to do things like play in the garden, yes Dom was scared to play in the garden alone, but suddenly when I put Lewis out there he played happily… Now I see this happening with Florrie and her little brother… So cute, she loves him!

20140613-080210-28930959.jpg

My little Tate is such a wriggler, when he is awake he is constantly on the move, he can spin himself around in a half circle and he is trying to roll ove, I’m not quite ready for that just yet so he can take his time! He loves laying down in his stroller looking around at the world around him and listening to all the sounds, his favorite place to lay is in the middle of my bed, he lays there for a while just kicking, wriggling and talking!

Tate is my first child to be cloth diapered… Today, I have put my first cloth diaper on him, let’s see how it goes, it feels weird already, but I’m sure we will both get used to it… And these new diapers are more like trendy disposables that just need to be washed…

20140613-084013-31213713.jpg

I am a breastfeeding Mama these days, after bottle feeding my first 4 children, I found out that I love breastfeeding and my last 4 children have been solely breastfed… So it goes without saying Tate is solely breastfed, he occasionally has pumped milk in a bottle, this happens when like yesterday I left him with a friend for a couple of hours so Florrie and I could have some one on one time! He is a good nurser and he is certainly growing well on all of this good milk!

We are still following up on some health issues from birth with Tate, we are seeing a Gastric and intestine doctor at a local hospital, this children’s hospital is amazing, it is beautifully decorated and equipped for children of all ages and so far we are very impressed with the medical staff! Tate’s bilirubin levels in his liver are still higher than they should be, all the blood work showed high potassium levels too, but they think this was caused by the heel blood they took and when his blood was taken from his arm the potassium levels looked good, but this set of blood work showed a high level of enzymes in his liver… So what this all means is that my poor baby has to have yet more blood work and an ultrasound on his liver… He is a very healthy, chunky looking baby, gaining weight, way too fast, his development is spot on for his age… So fingers crossed everything will be fine!

Tate Jude brings so much joy and love to this crazy family… 3 months have flown by, but I look forward to each and everyday of new milestones in this little boys life…

20140613-090719-32839239.jpg

Leave a Reply

