Uncategorized

Charlie Banana…

Being a complete novice at cloth diapering means I can truthfully tell it how it really is… And I really don’t know what all the fuss is about, I’m loving cloth diapering, it’s not rocket science, today with these fancy diapers! I bought 4 cloth all in one cloth diapers, one Bumgenius and a pack of 3 Charlie Banana ones, so far the Charlie Banana ones win hands down, the poppers are so much nicer to use, the pads are soft and wash well and the fit is perfect for my 3 month old baby boy and we have tried them on his 3 year old sister and they fit perfectly too!

20140621-084152-31312380.jpg

Now I know I only have 4 diapers at the moment to wash but it’s so easy to get into a routine, once the diapers are used I pull them apart, rinse them if they need it then place in a bucket, every other day I spray the stained ones with a stain remover, now I know you are not meant to do this and my plan is to mix up a vinegar and water stain spray, but for now I’ve been using resolve and I only spray them a tiny bit, I place them in my super new washer with a couple of towels to balance out the load, set my machine on delay wash, to be ready for when I get up, I only use the laundry detergent, and I only use a free and clear, safe for the environment detergent, no softener, I set the washer on a long cycle and extra rinse and they come out perfect! I tumble dry the inserts, again no dryer sheets just two dryer blasts to help fluff and separate the load, on a low heat and hang the outer parts out to dry!

Again I know I only have 4 diapers but I don’t understand the problem with stuffing the diapers, so far I have stuffed them as I need them, it doesn’t take long, about as long as opening a disposable! It is true that my little boy needs changing more often, I haven’t taken him out in a cloth diaper just yet, or let him sleep through the night, but I do use them throughout the day when we are at home! My plan is to buy the box of six Charlie Banana diapers and I would like to try to pre-folds and covers, I bought all of my cloth diapers so far from Buy Buy Baby using my 20% off coupon! I tried Babies r us, but their cloth diapers consist of trainer pants and a pack of flat terry diapers old style, a waste of time, Amazon seems like a good place to get all things cloth diapering and from my research there seem to be some good websites out there! Etsy have some cute handmade diapers that I have been looking at, so I have plenty of options for my next purchase, but this is definitely an ongoing project… So far I have reduced my consumption of disposable diapers to half, so I am a little bit greener than I used to be, but cost wise I’m not quite breaking even just yet as I have had the outlay of the diapers to take into consideration, but so far so good… I am loving my little boy in his tiny cloth diapers!

Now onto the subject of disposable diapers, if you are like me and hate the thought of all the chemicals that go into each disposable diaper then the more natural made diapers are the way to go, I have tried babyganics, seventh generation and the Honest Company… I have to say my two favorites are Seventh generation and The Honest Company, but now the Honest Company Diapers just got better, they are now sold in Target and the best thing about Target is that they are $2 cheaper per pack than anywhere else… Yay, this made me very excited! I also like the Honest Company shampoo and body wash, this is sold in Costco, two large bottles are $14, but if you wait a while there is usually a coupon, so I purchased two bottles for $11… A bargain price!

20140621-090744-32864236.jpg

Leave a Reply

