Uncategorized

This and that…

Routine makes the world a more organized place… I’ve always fought against routine, but I am discovering the older I get that having a routine is the way to live, of course there is always room for something you don’t normally do, but you need routine for an organized life!

Back to school for me means setting a new routine for myself and my little ones, keeping the house clean and tidy with only an hours worth of housework a day, doing some yoga and getting some homeschooling schedule set in place for Florrie… These are just a few things I have been gradually working on, taking my time to work out the best schedule around Tate’s nap times!

As you all know I am also a huge fan of healthy home cooking and menu planning, I have been working on improving and incorporating this full time into our lives… My older children frequently look in the pantry and fridge and declare we have nothing in, I have finally worked out why… Because I do not buy junk food at all anymore, my grocery list is made up of healthy fruit and veggies, grains and protein, I also include lots of home baking ingredients, so I guess our cupboards are bare… Of junk food!

This week I bought two cast iron skillets from Costco, these are something I have been looking at for a while, they are a chemical free way to cook, which I really like, hopefully they will last me for years to come and they were cheap $36 for two… A bargain! Of course I had to try them out so I decided to make homemade flour tortillas… They were a huge success and so were my skillets for making them in! I don’t think I will ever buy flour tortillas again, they were so easy to make with very few ingredients and they tasted delicious!

IMG_5415.JPG

IMG_5402.JPG

Smoothies have become an almost every day way of life, you could say we are addicted… my freezer is filled with frozen fruit… Freezing bananas is a perfect way to keep bananas ready for smoothies, I’ve bought flax seed, chia seeds and wheat germ to add in for extra nutrients and I always try to add coconut water, so good for digestion and your stomach! When I make smoothies for just Florrie and I, I add lots of fresh spinach and veggies, unfortunately when I make them for my older children they can detect the slightest amount of non fruit products and then they protest… Best to keep to fruit… At least they drink them that way!

IMG_5435.JPG

Leave a Reply

