Uncategorized

Trying to be healthy…

I have managed to eat a healthy breakfast and then I started my yoga for beginners DVD… I’m either very unfit or completely unflexible, probably both, but I managed 10 minutes of exercising this morning… Not a bad start to my healthy regime… Ha, ha! Now I’m sitting with a sleeping baby on my lap typing this blog and thinking about my healthy vegan veggie soup I’m making for lunch!

IMG_6581.JPG

I’m becoming a huge fan of chia seeds, my plan last night was to make a chia seed pudding unfortunately for some reason my chia seeds did not gel, so I did not want to waste all this coconut milk goodness… What to make instead…
1/2 cup of gluten free oats from Trader Joes
1/2 cup of my coconut, chia seed mix (1/2 cup unsweetened coconut milk, 3 tablespoons of chia seeds, 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla essence and 1 teaspoon of blue agave)
1 rounded teaspoon of unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 cup of coconut water
3 strawberries quartered
A small handful of semi sweet chocolate chips (dairy free)

Mix together the first four ingredients in a microwave bowl, this could be cooked in a saucepan on the stove top too… once mixed together, microwave on high for 5 minutes, spoon into two glasses and top with strawberries, chocolate chips and a drizzle of the blue agave… Sit back and indulge in chocolate for breakfast!

Breastfeeding Tate has meant I have had to avoid lots of foods as he has a very delicate digestive system at the moment… Tomatoes is one of those foods, trying to cook Fall comfort foods is a challenge without a tomato base, but I have found the solution… Pure pumpkin, delicious, healthy and fantastic for your digestive system, totally anti-inflammatory and the best thing is I’ve managed to disguise it in everything I’ve cooked so far as it doesn’t have a strong taste when added to other ingredients…A house full of fussy eaters!

Other ingredients I am addicted to for nutrition and to help fill a meal out to feed a house of hungry children on a budget are barley, quinoa, oats… I also love ground flax seeds added to everything!

Leave a Reply

