Uncategorized

Days in our lives…

I think I am never letting my mum go home, it’s so lovely to go out then come home to dinner cooking… Yesterday was Veterans Day over here and of course my brothers birthday, anyway Paul had the day off from work, he very kindly looked after our babies who both have colds at the moment, so I could visit my friend, who is in hospital today having surgery on her broken ankle… Good luck Jill! After that I came home and Paul and I took Tate out, Florrie wanted to stay with her Nanny, which was fabulous, because Nanny stayed home and it meant that we walked through the door at 5pm to the smell of dinner slowly cooking away… Yummy!

IMG_2233.JPG

Time is flying by way too fast, it’s crazy, Halloween came and went in a flash, we are hurtling towards Thanksgiving at an alarming rate, which means my Mum will be heading home soon after, then of course it will be time for Santa to visit all of us that have been good this year… Florrie does not understand that all her wants and needs have to be put on Santa’s list, she wants it all NOW, and if she doesn’t get it she just cries and cries… Really this has got me thinking, that things never really change, as my children get older they have their wants and needs and if they don’t get them they just moan, they are quieter than Florrie at 3 years old, but they still demand and moan, I think this really only changes as they move into their mid twenties and really start to grow up… So again that got me thinking, are younger children that much harder than dealing with teens and twenty year olds, I’m really not sure, the problems are just more complex and you don’t have quite so much control in dealing with the problem!

IMG_2578.JPG

We had a wonderful afternoon in Westfield last Friday, a girlie shopping trip and Tate… Mabel has decided she wants to be a leader in fashion not a follower, truly her mothers daughter, she loves the boho look and has developed into a gorgeous fashionista with her own style, well actually it’s her mothers style , I knew it would happen one day… She is a mini me when it comes to choosing clothes these days! We headed into Westfield after my doctors appointment and straight into Urban Outfitters, she was like a kid in a candy store, piling things to try on everywhere… On top of the stroller, underneath it and on her personal coat hanger… Me!

IMG_2633.JPG

We picked up the same things to try on several times and unbelievably we can share some things these days, even though she is so thin and it always looks so much better on her, I suppose that’s what being Mabel’s Mum is all about these days… Accepting she looks so much better than me in my clothes 🙂

IMG_2634.JPG

IMG_2632.JPG

IMG_2631.JPG

Anyway after a very successful shopping trip in UO, we sat in Starbucks, then had lunch… Visited Baby Gap, my favorite shop for Tate’s clothes and then bought sleepover goodies for Mabel’s friends in Trader Joes and much needed wine for my Mum and me too, this time we tried organic wine, which was yummy btw!

IMG_2619.JPG

All in all Friday turned into a perfect teacher convention day off, ending in a sleepover for Mabel with three of her friends… Now on that subject I will just say this was not so perfect… Three teenage girls at 2am doing handstands in my living room is not so much fun… Enough said!

IMG_0371.JPG

Sleepover chocolate chip Frappes for breakfast…

For 4 sleepover teenager girls… Half fill your blender with ice, add 2 cups of coconut milk, 3-4 tablespoons of chocolate sauce, we used Trader Joes True Moo and a cup of semi sweet chocolate chips… Blend until mixed together, pour into glasses and top with whipped cream, chocolate sauce and a few chocolate chips… Serve with a smile and think to yourself they will be sleeping in their own homes tonight… BLISS!

Leave a Reply

