Uncategorized

Attachment parenting…

In this crazy world in which we live in we have to name everything and make it fashionable… One of the new trending terms for breastfeeding, cloth diapering, baby-wearing parents is CRUNCHY, or attachment parenting… Although these things we do as new parents may make us crunchy these days, haven’t they been around for much longer than these trendy parents seem to realise!

I have always been a very attached parent, I do not believe that leaving my baby to cry will help him to learn to sleep on his own or make him a more independent person as he grows up, I believe in cuddles, comfort and being there for him so that he does not get distressed… Once upon a time I would have worried what everyone thought about me extending breastfeeding to my little girl, or what they would have said about babies sleeping in my bed so that I can sleep night after night, but being a new mother in my forties has changed this… I believe motherhood is about each individual’s journey with their child, their beliefs and their own style of parenting!

As I sit in bed and type, I look down to my side at the little boy sleeping beside me… This weekend he has been poorly, he has needed cuddles all the time and reassurance that he will feel better soon, it breaks my heart to hear babies cry, so this is why I choose to parent in the way I do… Sometimes Paul is not wholly with my way of thinking, but that’s ok, it is the way it is, we can’t agree on everything and on this subject we differ, well actually on many subjects we differ, but we make it work, that’s what is important.

IMG_7704.JPG

1 thought on “Attachment parenting…”

Leave a Reply

