Uncategorized

Simplifying life…

When you are a mother of a large family you get to a point in life when it is time to simplify your chaotic crazy life.  The first step for me to do this was treating myself to the Romba vacuum, oh how I love this addition to the house, the Romba works hard, she never complains and always completes the task she has been given in good time, unlike some other members of our house, not to mention any names… Wink wink!

The next task in hand is a major de clutter of every room, over the years I have been known to collect and hoard unnecessary junk, you never know you may need it some day, but to make life simpler and easier I think that junk all around needs to go, simplifying everyday tasks and giving me more time to enjoy life.

The next thing I thought about was grocery shopping, it’s not a task I relish each week, but it is a necessity.  I am becoming more and more a natural, organic freak, if it’s not organic or gluten free it quite often doesn’t make my shopping cart, with this in mind I have decided to revisit online shopping, something I frequently did when we lived in the UK, Waitrose was my favorite delivery service giving me good quality products and great service, so I would like to replicate this over here, unfortunately due to our location I am restricted to two shops and there delivery options, not overly impressed I have decided to use a new service  Thrive Market in conjunction with an organic fruit and vegetable delivery.  I try to buy as much organic meat as I can, I have mentioned trying to use a local farm for my meat, but most of them are closed at the moment, so I will continue using Costco for now, they have some good quality organic meats and some nice nitrate free, gluten free sausages and bacon.  Hopefully shopping online will free up some much needed quality time for us.

Due to health issues in our house, gluten free is a diet we are adopting in the main, it’s been difficult finding recipes that live up to there claims and photos of being beautiful baked goods, so here is my recipe for a huge family favorite in our house… Gluten free skillet brownies

Ingredients 

A large skillet with 1 tablespoon of melted coconut oil coated on the bottom

1 cup of melted coconut oil or butter

2 cups of organic sugar or a sugar substitute of your choice, I’ve used Blu agave before and coconut sugar

4 organic large eggs

2/3 cup of cocoa powder

1 cup of all purpose gluten free flour

1/2 teaspoon of pink Himalayan salt

1/2 teaspoon of gluten free baking powder

1 cup of semi sweet chocolate chunks 
Add sugar and eggs to melted coconut oil and beat til completely combined.  Add in the rest of the ingredients, except the chocolate chunks, stir until just combined, fold in the chocolate chunks until they are enemy distributed then pour into the oiled skillet, place in a pre-heated 350f oven and bake for 20-25 minutes… Take out of the oven and enjoy warm and sticky perfect gluten free brownies. 

  

Leave a Reply

