Kitchen renovation

IKEA kitchen fun… Part 1


It’s been a few years since I started my quest for a new kitchen, it’s been a whole year in the planning phase and now it’s finally here, the cabinets, appliances, sink and faucets are ordered and arriving next week… Onto phase two, installation.
I have changed my mind several times along the way, don’t get me wrong my kitchen style has never changed, farmhouse kitchens have gained popularity in the last few years, farmhouse sinks, simple shaker cupboards and subway tiles are all the vogue, but these were all things I chose for my kitchen 14 years ago back in England and they are all things I still love to this day, so my obvious choices were always going to go back to my roots despite its popularity these days. The things that have changed are how and where I would get my cabinets, we plan to be in our house for a relatively short amount of time, now things could change but I’m hoping when Mabel is out of High School we will be moving, so in all honesty it seemed crazy to spend a huge amount of money on a big fancy kitchen, also if anyone knows me I’m not a big fancy person, I like thrifting, mismatched shabby chic and pure and simple country style. If I had my way I would have a kitchen made up of all old free standing cabinets, an old farmhouse sink with a curtain underneath for a door, an old work table as an island and reclaimed floorboards for the counter tops, unfortunately this is not only impractical with living in a house in a field and mice, but also I think Paul and Mabel would freak out too.

We have looked around at high end kitchen showrooms, middle of the range cabinets and IKEA… Well guess what IKEA won, their cabinets get good reviews, have a good warranty and are reasonably priced, they are very customizable so you can really mix and match to get the configuration you want, they are not as cheap as I was led to believe though. I have waited for their annual kitchen offer to come into play, I also used their kitchen planning service $199, a bargain, as an IKEA family member I get a full refund when I ordered my kitchen, they also have an installation service that includes as much of the work you want done or as little. The 15% back from the purchase price of your kitchen comes in the form of an IKEA gift card but was well worth doing as it means when all is said and done I will have saved $2000, as I plan to use the gift card on some of the kitchen not yet ordered.
All in all so far I’m excited… The ordering process in the store was extremely slow and took a lot longer than I had planned for, F and T were starting to bounce off the walls we were confined in the store for so long, now don’t get me wrong I love a shopping trip to Ikea usually but this was just long boring and seemed so unnecessary as I had the documentation from the planning service. I’m hoping to farmhouse chic my new kitchen with a few new thrifting pieces once it’s installed, but for now it will be arriving next week and the hard work has to begin… Where do I put all the stuff in my existing kitchen cupboards ready for Demo Day.

Leave a Reply

