Kitchen renovation, Uncategorized

IKEA kitchen from start to not quite finished yet.

We seem to be at a standstill right now as far as the kitchen goes, it was all go, go, go for one week, now we are on a go extremely slow. We are at the end of August which means I have not had a kitchen now for 3 months, I think we have managed quite well with grilling outside on the deck, the thing I have missed the most is the sink, it has surprised me how much we rely on our kitchen sink, even in this world of automation and dishwashers, the sink is a mainstay of our kitchen and can never be fully replaced.

Installing IKEA kitchens and using there installation services is a little complicated just as there flat packed cabinets have a lot of components so does this service… It’s taken me almost three months to understand the way things work, I think, so let me try to explain… IKEA itself sells you the kitchen, the kitchen is made up of many, many, many components, on a $14,000 kitchen expect to have at least 250 boxes be delivered, there are screws, hinges, drawer fronts, side panels, handles, countertop, appliances, the list goes on, and within 48 hours you are expected to check a receipt that has a list of foreign names and complicated numbers that is at least 3 ft long over and match it with a garage full of boxes that have been delivered to you, sometimes in two or three deliveries and as it turns out one box can contain several items, if you don’t check this and report any missed items or damaged items within 48 hours they can refuse to refund these items to you at a later date, even if you are using there recommended contracting service.

Once you have purchased your kitchen and you decided to use their installation service you move onto their company called Traemand, now it has taken me a while to realize they only deal with cabinet making, installation, countertops and dry fitting of appliances, be warned to check the invoice thoroughly before you sign it, little things like fitting toe kick boards on a 47 linear foot kitchen cost $980 to fit, making your less expensive IKEA cabinets more expensive in the long run.  Be warned the invoice only says it’s an estimate and can change at any time without you even realizing it, ours increased by $300 and they didn’t even tell us why and I’m still trying to work out why exactly.  The cost of fitting our cabinets, butcher countertop and dry installation of appliances was $4400 and is now $4700 plus now we have added different toe kick boards and different end panels adding a total of $1200… In total installation is $5900.

Now we move onto almost everything else… I decided to use IKEA design service for our kitchen, the cost of this is $199, I am not a kitchen designer, I had an idea in mind how I wanted my kitchen to look but I didn’t want the responsibility of the final design and cabinets that did not fit in because I did not know what I was doing.  Traemand sub contract out to different contracting companies depending on the area you live, our IKEA use a company called Best Carpenters, their project manager was our kitchen designer… Enter Oleg, he wears many hats from design to project management.  Best Carpenters basically do anything else you need or want done, so we signed into a contract for them to complete our electrics, plumbing, Sheetrock and tiling.  This is where it gets complicated, Best Carpenters also fit the cabinets and install them too, it gets complicated because at this point you are not sure who you are dealing with for different things, should you speak to Traemand because of the cabinets or Best Carpenters because they are managing the whole project… Who, tell me!!!


The Friday before last after a busy week of cabinet installation we were asked to complete a completion form, I was skeptical of signing it, but it was 8pm, the light in the kitchen was fading, still no lights fitted, my younger children were hungry and tired as we were waiting for the kitchen guys to leave, it seemed weird to be signing a completion form when our kitchen looked like the above photos but I did it and instantly regretted it, I emailed over the weekend to Best Carpenters and Traemand to retract my signature but it made no difference, two days later Traemand tried to take the full amount plus more of the final payment on installation, luckily the money was in a different account and it did not go out, they didn’t send me an invoice to check, they didn’t ask how I wanted to pay they just tried to take the money as according to the Best Carpenter guys my cabinets were installed and my dry fit of appliances were in place… Well as you can see the cabinets were definitely not completed, there are still many boxes of components hidden in cabinets, appliances are nowhere to be seen, but they still wanted the final payment in full plus more with no invoice sent to explain the extra charges

There is a fourth part to the component of a Kitchen installation, the Quartz countertop people, you purchase the Quartz countertop in store then you call a different department for the template to be made, be warned the store told me that they would be out the next day if I needed it, but in reality they work on appointments a week to a week and a half in advance.  The cabinets need to be fully in place, appliances need to be fitted and after you have taken full responsibility for the template they draw up, it takes about 10 to 15 days to get your new countertop. 

After taking our old kitchen out three months ago I now have cabinets, not finished yet, some countertops but no stove top cut into them, I have a fully installed and working microwave, the dishwasher and oven are in place but not working yet, our refrigerator is in place and we had it before the whole new kitchen thing so that is still working, we have our template being drawn up for the Quartz on our island this Wednesday coming and I am making my third trip to IKEA this week to change and return parts… It’s been quite an experience, I’m hoping it will all be worth it in the end, by the time it is finished snow will be on the ground And I will have to relearn how to cook it’s been so long 😃

Leave a Reply

