Photographic diary, Uncategorized

Sunday afternoon…

I have been contemplating for quite a while where I could go for a little antiquing fun, in England we visited all over on our antiquing quests, Lewes near Brighton in Sussex was my favorite little town to visit, I could spend hours just wandering around the little antique stores scattered around.

This past Sunday we decided to brunch in our little neighbouring town, the cutest little lunching place was our destination, we were hoping to get there for breakfast but our timekeeping was not great, we did manage to get there for lunch though,  stuffed mushrooms for me with salad on the side and a huge sandwich for Paul, our babies had a firm favorite of grilled cheese sandwiches… the atmosphere was relaxing and the food was comforting.  What I had forgotten about this town was how abundant it was in antique shops… yay a win for me.


Lunch was fun but shopping was even more fun, I told both F and T not to touch anything, they could look but not touch and I have say they were both so good, several people commented on how good they were, they loved looking at all the old things, asking questions and just looking with very little touch ‘I’m just rocking the baby Mom’ Tate said in the cutest little voice. Paul and I love browsing the old antiques, we look at very different things then occasionally we find an item we both love.  I could have spent so much money, I’m a little bit addicted to all this old ‘junk’, old crates, glass bottles and jars, weighing scales and old ladders, I want it all… but I did not see an old farmhouse table, one thing I really need, but I did buy some old farmhouse meat weighing scales, did I need them, no, did Paul and I love them… yes, so now they will be hanging in my new kitchen, much to my fussy daughters disgust, she does not take after me for my love of old things… maybe one day.

On our way home we called into a weekend Antique sale at a local storage place… lucky we did or I wouldn’t have found my old 1800’s bus shelter bench… I saw it from the car and knew it had to be mine, luckily Paul loved it too, several people looked at it, but I knew I wanted it… perfect when bought back to life with a farmhouse table in my bay window… I’m so excited… luckily it got mostly good reviews in my house, apart from my teenage daughter who as I have said absolutely hates old junk… I think she lives in the wrong house 😃

Leave a Reply

