Photographic diary

The making of a Christmas card…

Well the forecast is COLD COLD COLD next week as the polar artic blast is set to freeze our socks off… but the weather has been very mild up until now, so mild in fact that we even managed a Fall trip to the beach…

The beach… that is when I decided I needed a mini Christmas card photo session… I love to be non-traditional at this time of year, I love the idea of cards set in something you would not necessarily think of as Christmas, with a little twist… so I planned outfits and simplistic prop and off we went…


It was so mild my children even decided to take a quick dip, I freaked out thinking the water would be freezing, but after a little investigation I agreed with them the water was very pleasant and kind of warm.  It was a good job I had packed several outfit changes as Tate was having so much fun at the waters edge he fell over flat on his face and got soaked… Mommy to the rescue, quick change into dry clothes before he got cold, then he was up and running around again.


I love the beach when it is quiet, the waves crashing in and the sand stretching for miles shining in the sunshine… I was expecting a very empty beach when we arrived but we were surprised to find a lot of people had had the same idea, and who could blame them, it’s not often you get a lovely day at the beach this near to Christmas… oh to live in a warm climate all year round near the beach… that’s what dreams are made of.


As I’ve got older I’ve learnt to appreciate the simple things in life… I’m in the process of decluttering my life and so with that in mind I wanted my card to be simple, no fancy Christmas colors, just shades of white to match the sand, sea and sky, a very simplistic prop was all I needed to highlight the time of year and it was done. (Gorgeous dress by Mini Boden and the cutest boys clothes by ZARA)

Now I consider myself to be very lucky to have two of the very best models around, they love the beach so I just let them do their thing and snapped away, I think it came out pretty well considering my amateur photographer status.  

Some of you may ask ‘why are only two of your children on the card?’ Well the answer is simple, most of my children hate having their photos taken, Mabel said if she was around she would have loved to have been in the photo, but she is a social butterfly these days and so she was out with her friends on this day out at the beach… you have to take what you have been given and in this case I think I was very lucky to have these two beautiful babies let me take photographs of their day at the beach.


Happy Holidays xxx xx xxx

Leave a Reply

